Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Congratulations 2019 award recipients

Thank you everyone who participated this year! This year we had 10 schools participate with 103 boards submitted for judging. This year we awarded 21 prizes to 16 students from 9 schools. That does not mean that the other boards were not amazing. Architecture, just like any other design related industry such as art, fashion, and graphics, is a very subjective trade. Every person or judge in this case, has a preference in style, materials and spatial arrangements. This creates an emotional attachment to a particular design and it is one of the architect's tasks to convey that sentiment to the judge, client and/or occupant. For those other 87 students who have a passion for architecture, don't let this discourage you to try again next year.

First Place

Katherine Johnson [Clay High School]

Second Place
Carissa Shepherd [Whitmer]


Stephanie Andrews and Rajani Shrestha
First Place
Carissa Shepherd [Whitmer]
Second Place
Josephine Miller-Davis [Anthony Wayne]
Third Place
Isaac Minor [Vanguard Career Center]

Bowling Green State University Architecture Department
D. Scot MacPherson
First Place
Yarin Mercer [Penta Career Center]
Second PlaceCarissa Shepherd [Whitmer]

Tom Sorosiak (Polish Cultural Center)
Tom Waniewski (Polish Cultural Center)
Jim Stephens (Lawrence Technological University)
Daniel Ebert (AIA Toledo)
Ed Glowacki (AIA Toledo)

Junior High

First Place
Ava Gargac [St. Ursula]
Honorable Mention
Nathan Malek [St. Francis]
Honorable Mention
Andrew Seddon [St. Francis]
Freshman / Sophomore
First Place
Sonja Luciano [Start High School]
Second Place
Courtney Buck [Start High School]
Third Place
Angelo Ledesma [Start High School]

First Place
Georgia Stinson [Penta Career Center]
Second Place
Ian FitzGerald [Perrysburg High School]
Third Place
Ana Lesia Encalado [Penta Career Center]
First Place
Katherine Johnson [Clay High School]
Second Place
Shelby House [ Penta Career Center]

Third Place
Katelynn Coleman [ Millstream Career Center]
Fourth Place
Yarin Mercer [ Penta Career Center]

Fifth Place
Carissa Shepherd [Whitmer]

Thank you to all of our donors, advisors, and instructors! We look forward to seeing you next year.

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

And the Winners are...

…going to be announced on Wednesday, April 24th at 5:00 PM at Parkway Place in Maumee. Thank you everyone who participated (103 entries from 11 schools) and hope to see you at the banquet on Wednesday. We are also very excited to bring in 7 schools of architecture from 3 states to our Awards Ceremony.  There will be tables set up with information about their program and university.  This is an excellent opportunity for the students to learn about the different schools of architecture in our region.  They will be set up during the board viewing and potentially after the award presentations.

Ohio: Bowling Green State University, Miami University, Kent State University, The Ohio State University

Michigan: Lawrence Technological University, University of Michigan
Indiana: Ball State University 
Event Schedule

5:00 PM

Viewing of Student Entries, Appetizers Available,

Table Displays of various Architecture Programs from regional Colleges and Universities

6:15 PM


J. E. Elliot from Miami University Department of Architecture and Interior Design

Tom Sorosiak from the Polish Cultural Center

6:45 PM
Presentation of Awards

Instructors, if you did not participate this year, this is an excellent opportunity to view the students’ work, talk to other participating instructors and students, and get a better idea of what all is involved in the competition.

All award-winning boards will be kept by AIA Toledo for future presentations and will be returned at next year’s kick-off meeting, or through other arrangements with the HSDC committee.  All non-award-winning boards should be taken home after the awards ceremony.

Thank you to all the instructors and advisors for another great program. Winners will be posted soon after the ceremony.

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

2019 Program - Polish Cultural Center

Thank you for joining us again for our 69th year of the High School Design Competition.

This year's project is the design of a new Polish Cultural Center (PCC). The new cultural center will be in Toledo, Ohio near the intersection of Mott Avenue and Graham Street in the area known as Marina District II and is located across the street from planned mixed-use multifamily housing and Toledo Metropark development in the Marina District along the Maumee River. The PCC will serve two main purposes; first, it will be a physical gathering place for the public at large for fellowship and special events, especially those events involving different local Polish organizations and; second, it will be the cultural hub for the local Polish community to relive and preserve its heritage and traditions with museum and archive spaces. The new cultural center will encourage and engage future, younger generations of Poles as well as educate the community. 

The project scope engages local Polish organizations and includes space for the Polish Genealogical Society, which will have a large library and research center for storage of old documents along with high speed internet connectivity for ancestry research. The scope also includes a large area for a banquet hall that will seat approximately 250 people, hosting an array of events such as dances or performances and practices by the Echoes of Poland dance troupe. A smaller lounge area will be used for small informal gatherings such as watching a Polish soccer game or fellowship. Other spaces in the center will be utilized as meetings and displays of local cultural and historical exhibits that showcase the history of Polish people in northwest Ohio. 

This year, awards will be given for architectural design as sponsored by AIAT, Emerging Professional Material Innovation Award, Sustainable Architecture, and digital media as sponsored by BGSU. In addition, Lawrence Technological University (LTU) and The University of Detroit Mercy (UDM) are generously offering tuition scholarship awards to Senior, Junior, & Sophomore/Freshman level award winners who attend their university.  The design awards banquet will be held in April 2019 and the winning students will be invited to an architectural tour / field trip in May. Student entries will be due date on March 21, 2019.  

See the full program below for more details, requirements and design awards.

2019 Program

AutoCAD Download-includes site plan in model space

*Some corrections have been clouded to identify changes made to the document since issuance to the teachers.
  • Due date is THURSDAY, March 21st
  • The Freezer/Cooler description has been updated to be space for a walk-in freezer/cooler area.
  • The 2 required offices are designated for the head chef and director.
  • Additional parking is not a required portion of this program. Students can add additional parking if they think it will improve the connectivity between existing parking locations and the new structure.

Good Luck and feel free to contact the committee with questions or clarifications.