Monday, April 17, 2017

And the winner is...

…going to be announced on Wednesday, April 19th at 5:00 PM at One Seagate in downtown Toledo. Thank you everyone who participated (64 entries from 10 schools) and hope to see you at the banquet on Wednesday. We are also very excited to once again be bringing in 10 schools of architecture from 3 states to our Awards Ceremony.  They will have tables set up with information about their program and university.  This is an excellent opportunity for the students to learn about the different schools of architecture in our region.  They will be set up during the board viewing and potentially after the award presentations.

Ohio: Bowling Green State University, Miami University, Kent State University, Ohio State University, University of Cincinnati

Michigan: Lawrence Technological University, University of Michigan, University of Detroit Mercy

Indiana: Ball State University and University of Notre Dame 

Parking is available at the Vistula Garage at Summit and Cherry, across from One Seagate; the entrance on Superior Street at Orange. This parking facility is linked via underground concourse to One Seagate and the Imagination Station. Parking rates do apply for this event: ½ hour or less=$1; 4 hrs=$6.00; 24 hrs= $8.00.


Event Schedule

5:00 PM

Viewing of Student Entries, Appetizers Available,

Table Displays of various Architecture Programs from regional Colleges & Universities;

6:15 PM


Ellen Kennedy, Education Manager; Great Lakes Historical Society

Will Wittig, AIA, Dean of the School of Architecture; Professor of Architecture; University of Detroit Mercy


6:45 PM

Presentation of Awards
Instructors, if you did not participate this year, this is an excellent opportunity to view the students’ work, talk to other participating instructors and students, and get a better idea of what all is involved in the competition.

All award-winning boards will be kept by AIA Toledo for future presentations and will be returned at next year’s kick-off meeting, or through other arrangements with the HSDC committee.  All non-award-winning boards should be taken home after the awards ceremony.
Thank you to all the instructors and advisors for another great program. Winners will be posted soon after the ceremony.